FAQ

Register

Search images

Find images

 Order images

 

Why register with KEYSTONE?

It’s simple and worthwhile to register with KEYSTONE. After registering, you get a login. This allows you to access all of KEYSTONE’s images and offers you full functionality of the search options. You can also manage your project-related images in specific Lightboxes and download high-res images without watermarks.

Please note: Basically, only business clients, b2b business to business, get full access to the KEYSTONE Image Portal. Private persons do not get a login.

How do I get login data?

Start by registering in Sign In. Fill in the corresponding form. Business clients, b2b (business to business), receive login data within one working day. Private persons do not get a login.

How do I change my password?

Please write to us at sales@keystone.ch indicating your current login data (user name and password). We will send you new login data within one working day.

How can I subscribe to the KEYSTONE Newsletter?

Go to My Profile in My Account to subscribe to the KEYSTONE Newsletter. You need to be signd in order to do this. You can unsubscribe from the KEYSTONE Newsletter at any time, simply write us to sales@keystone.ch

How do I update my account information?

Go to My Profile in My Account to edit your personal information and configuration at any time. You can also subscribe to the KEYSTONE newsletter here.

I cannot find the pictures I am looking for. Why not?

Reset the search options with Clear and launch a fresh search. Check your input (spelling) and try again with different Search Options. Enter a new term for searching in another language (in French, German or English). Check the Search Area (Creative, Editorial, Archives, Stories or Sports).

What search options are available to me in the search field?

Two terms are automatically linked with AND. The search result shows therefore images which contain both terms (resp. all terms). Max Frisch finds images containing Max as well as Frisch.
If you link two terms with OR, the search result shows images containing either one term or the other. Max Frisch finds images which contain Max or Frisch.
If you want to exclude a term link both terms with NOT. The search result shows therefore images containing only the first term and excluding the second one. Max Frisch finds images containing only Max.
If you put a term in quotation marks, the search result shows only images containing those terms in consecutive order. "Max Frisch" finds only Max Frisch.
If you are searching for a partial term, put an asterisk in front and back of the term. *frisch* leads to search results such as Auffrischen. Taufrisch, Frischhaltefolie ...

You can show or hide further search options in the search result. This allows you to search inherently and therefore narrow down your search result.

What kind of images do I find in the Creative section?

In KEYSTONE’s Creative section you find images on subjects such as food & drink, lifestyle & free time, geography & travel, flora & fauna, concepts & emotions. These images are primarily used in advertising and marketing. Here you find images which are subject to licensing (RM) and images for which rights issues have already been settled (RF).

What kind of images do I find in the Editorial section?

In KEYSTONE's Editorial section you find pictures on news and events, sports and entertainment as well as portraits of important persons, historical images or reportages (see respective domain). Here you also find edited dossiers on current topics for your journalistic background information. To access all Editorial images you need a login.  

What kind of images do I find in the News section?

News images are only accessible for subscribers.

What kind of images do I find in the Archives section?

In KEYSTONE’s Archives section you find images taken before 2000. If you possess a login, you can use the Calendar here.
With over 11 million images, KEYSTONE disposes of the most important photo archive in Switzerland including an extensive manual repository with photographs, slides and photographic plates: a seemingly inexhaustible collection on the social history of our country. Since it will still take some time until the entire Archives collection will be available via our KEYSTONE image portal, we are happy to search the complete stock for you upon request. KEYSTONE is the exclusive and worldwide representative of other prestigious photo collections of Switzerland.

What kind of images do I find in the Stories section?

In KEYSTONE’s Stories section you find image series, reportages and photo essays. Reportages visualize stories clearly defined in time and space from the perspective of an eyewitness. In contrast, essays are about a photographer’s individual engagement with a specific subject.

What kind of images do I find in the Sports section?

In KEYSTONE’s Sports section you find sports images. This section is divided into News, a focus on important Events as well as Dossiers. Here you also find subpages with the sports highlights of the year such as football matches or Olympic Games.

When should I combine search areas?

The combination of search areas is usually not necessary. However, if you combine the two search areas Creative and Editorial, you can be sure that all the images containing your search term are found.

Where do I find the Daily Outlook?

You find the Daily Outlook in the News section. It is updated daily and only accessible for subscribers.

Is there a weekly Outlook?

You find the weekly Outlook in the Editorial section. You need a login in order to access the Outlook which is continually updated.

What is the difference between Rights managed (RM) and Royalty free (RF)?

We distinguish Rights managed images (RM), being subject to licensing, from Royalty Free images (RF), for which rights issues have already been settled. RM images as well as RF images are copyrighted, differ however regarding the extent of the rights of use acquired.

In case of Rights managed images (RM), a licence fee is being charged depending on kind and number of use.

Royalty free images (RF) can be used unlimited in time and in different contexts for a one-time fee.

Which pictures can I use for advertising purposes?

When using images in advertising, the rights of the depicted persons or objects, graphics and logos protected by trademark law are very important. For such images, special clearance for usage in advertising is required. Please note the information in the Special Instructions field of the captions. Model Released images can be used without any problems. To be sure, contact our Sales department sales@keystone.ch.

What are MODEL RELEASED images?

Model Released images are those for which personal rights of the persons depicted have been cleared, including for commercial usage.

What are PROPERTY RELEASED images?

Property Released are images of buildings, landmarks, trademarks and logos, which have been given clearance for commercial use by the owner.

What does CLEARANCE REQUIRED mean?

If an image is marked with Clearance Required (see Special Instructions), the use of the image must be clarified. If you would like to buy such an image, you will be automatically asked to indicate what you would like to use the image for. You will be notified shortly, as soon as clearance for the image has been given. You will then find the image in your inbox ready for download.

What are HANDOUT images?

Handout images must only be used for editorial purposes and in connection with the event, product or company depicted.

Which kinds of entries are listed in the SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS field?

The field Special Instructions lists certain rights of use or obligations.

What does SPECIAL FEES mean? 

Special Fees marked in the Special Instructions field indicates surcharges are imposed on picture fees. Those surcharges normally amount to +100%. For example, underwater pictures and aerial pictures carry surcharges. For more information, click on Request Price Offer in the respective image.

What does COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG mean? 

Every image is protected by copyrights meaning every use of an image requires a charged licencing. Some images are additionally noted with the information COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG, resp. Image ID (c). This information is intended for subscribers as a reminder that usage of the particular image is subject to a fee. 

How can I search for a date?

As all of the information relating to the picture is searched through in the search field, it is also possible to enter specific dates in this field. The format for the date is not standardized and you have to use different forms. However, the date under which a picture is saved in the database does have the standardized format YYYYMMDD.

I found a picture yesterday, but it is no longer available today. What is happening here?

We process more than 10’000 pictures a day. Around one quarter of these are archived every day. The rest is no longer available after 60 days. If there is a picture you cannot find anymore, please contact us at sales@keystone.ch and describe the image you are looking for. Our Sales Team will be happy to help you.

What are MY LIGHTBOXES?

My Lightboxes contain your personal collections of pictures. In a Lightbox, you can edit, copy, relocate or delete pictures for a specific project. If you are involved in a number of projects or starting out on a new one, simply set up a new Lightbox along with a name for the new project. These Lightboxes will then be available for an unlimited time.

What does the quality label “K” stand for?

An image selections marked with a "K" has been edited and reviewed in form and content by professional KEYSTONE picture editors. This image selection is a "best of" and gives an overview on the important images matching the respective topic.

Image selections marked with "K" are to be found in all search areas. They are part of the current KEYSTONE offer. Additionally, you find such selections in your search result below Context (right column). They contain at least one image matching your search term.

Does it work with any browser?

At present it has been tested with the current versions of Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer. In its current version, any other browser is sure to work properly, however the display may well suffer. Browsers without CSS support do not work.

Do I need Cookies and JavaScript?

You can manage without cookies. However, certain of the convenience functions will not work. It is better to switch cookies on. JavaScript is required. Without it our page does not work.

What is there saved in a Cookie?

Login data for the automatic login process, information for our load balancer, and status reports for page displays. These information are exclusively used for this purpose.

I do not have login rights and am not (yet) a member. Can I still receive pictures?

KEYSTONE is a b2b company and therefore usually only sells to other businesses. However, you may click on Request Price Offer in the view file of the image you are interested in and indicate what you would like to use the image for.

Can I purchase pictures for my own private use?

KEYSTONE is a b2b company and therefore usually only sells to other businesses. However, you may click on Request Price Offer in the image you are interested in and indicate to which private purpose you would like to use the image for.

What is MY INBOX?

My Inbox tells you the status of those images which you ordered because they are not available via our image portal. These may be Royalty free images or images marked with the label Clearance Required.

Your inbox also contains the Royalty free images for which you acquired long-term rights of usage.

Are there also analog pictures available at KEYSTONE? 

Yes, KEYSTONE has a stock of pictures running to around 11 million negatives, slides, prints and photographic plates. Not all of these have been digitalized as yet. You may send a request for a search to our Sales Team.

Contact

KEYSTONE AG
Grubenstrasse 45
CH - 8045 Zurich

phone +41 44 200 13 00
fax      +41 44 200 13 05
info@keystone.ch

© 2017 KEYSTONE Impressum Contact | FAQ | Terms & Conditions

FAQ

S'enregistrer

Rechercher des images 

Trouver les images

Commander des images

 

Pourquoi s’inscrire sur KEYSTONE?

S’inscrire sur KEYSTONE, c’est vite fait et vaut le coup: un login vous permet d’accéder tout le matériel iconographique de KEYSTONE bien que la fonctionnalité complète des options de recherche. Vous pouvez gérer vos images pour des projets spécifiques dans vos lightboxes et télécharger les images en haute résolution sans filigranes.

 

Indication: L'accès complet au KEYSTONE Image Portal est réservé aux clients b2b (business to business). Les particuliers ne reçoivent pas de login.

 

Comment obtenir un login?

Enregistrez-vous sous la rubrique Identifiez-Vous. Remplissez complètement le formulaire.

 

Les clients b2b reçoivent un login personnel dans le délai d’un jour ouvrable. Les particuliers ne reçoivent pas de login.

 

Comment puis-je modifier mon mot de passe?

Veuillez nous écrire sur sales@keystone.ch et indiquez, s’il vous plaît, vos données de connexion actuelles (username et mot de passe). Nous vous envoyons les nouveaux mots de passe dans le délai d’un jour ouvrable.

Comment puis-je abonner le KEYSTONE Newsletter?

Vous pouvez abonner le KEYSTONE Newsletter sous la rubrique Mon Compte. Pour ce faire, vous devez vous identifier. Si vous voulez vous désabonner, écrivez un e-mail à info@keystone.ch.

Comment puis-je actualiser les données de mon compte?

Vous pouvez modifier vos données personnelles et la configuration de votre profil à tout moment sous la rubrique Mon Compte dans Mon Profil. C’est ici aussi que vous pouvez vous abonner au KEYSTONE Newsletter.

Je ne trouve pas les images recherchées. Pourquoi?

Effacez les options de recherche et recommencez la recherche. Contrôlez votre orthographe et essayez avec d'autres options de recherche. Introduisez votre mot-clé dans une autre langue. Contrôlez le domaine de la recherche (Creative, Editorial, Archives, Stories ou Sport).

De quelles options de recherche est-ce que je dispose dans le champ de recherche?

Deux termes sont reliés automatiquement par ET. Le résultat de recherche donc montre des images qui contiennent les deux termes (ou tous les termes). Max Frisch trouve des images contentant Max et Frisch.
Si vous reliez les termes par OU, le résultat de recherche montre des images contenant l'un ou l'autre terme. Max Frisch trouve des images qui contiennent Max ou bien Frisch.
Si vous voulez exclure un terme, reliez les deux termes par SANS. Le résultat de recherche donc montre des images qui contiennent le premier terme et excluent le deuxième. Max Frisch trouve des images ne contenant que Max. Si vous guillemetez une suite de mots, le résultat de recherche ne montre que des images qui contiennent des termes dans cet ordre consécutif. "Max Frisch" ne trouve que Max Frisch.
Si vous cherchez un élément du terme, mettez-le en astérisques. *frisch* montre des résultats comme Auffrischen, Taufrisch, Frischhaltefolie ...

Dans le résultat de recherche, j'ai la possibilité d'afficher ou cacher des options de recherche supplémentaires. Ca me permet de faire une recherche inhérente aux résultats et donc d'affiner ceux-ci.

Qu'est ce que sont les images Creative?

Dans le domaine Creative de KEYSTONE vous trouverez des images sur des thèmes comme boire & manger, loisirs & lifestyle, géographie & voyages, flore & faune, concepts & émotions. Ce sont des images qui sont utilisées principalement dans la publicité et dans le marketing.

Ici vous trouvez des images dont les droits sont gérés (Rights managed, RM) et des images libres de droits (Royalty free).

Qu'est ce que sont les images Editorial?

Dans le domaine Editorial de KEYSTONE vous trouverez des images d'actualité récente couvrant les thèmes comme nouvelles, sport et divertissement mais aussi des portraits de personnalités, des images historiques ou des reportages (voir aussi les domaines correspondants). Dans le domaine Editorial se trouvent également à votre disposition des dossiers sur les actualités adaptés à vos besoins journalistiques.

Afin de pouvoir accéder toutes les images Editorial il vous faut un login.

Qu’est-ce que sont les images News?

Ce domaine est exclusivement accessible aux abonnés.

Qu’est-ce que sont les images Archives?

Dans le domaine Archives de KEYSTONE vous trouverez les images prises avant l’an 2000. Si vous avez un login, vous pouvez accéder au Calendrier. Avec un fond de plus de 11 millions d'images KEYSTONE possède la plus importante collection de photos historiques en Suisse y compris de vastes archives manuelles avec des photographies, des diapositives et plaques de verre. Une collection quasiment inexhaustible qui raconte l’histoire sociale de notre pays. Puisque on est encore loin d’avoir toutes ces images disponibles à travers notre portail en ligne, nous recherchons les fonds entiers sur demande. KEYSTONE représente des collections prestigieuses de la Suisse exclusivement dans le monde entier.

Qu’est-ce que sont les images Reportages?

Dans le domaine Reportages, vous trouvez des séries d'images, des reportages et des essaies photographiques. Des reportages visualisent des histoires clairement circonscrites dans le temps et dans l’espace du point de vue d’un témoin. Par contre, les essaies montrent une réflexion personnelle des photographes avec leur sujets respectifs.

Qu’est-ce que sont les images Sport?

Dans le domaine Sport, vous trouvez des images sports. Il se diverse en Actualité, Evénements importants et Dossiers. Vous y trouvez aussi des subpages avec les highlights sportifs de l'année comme des matchs de foot ou des Jeux olympiques.

Quand faire une recherche combinée?

Généralement, la combinaison des champs de recherche n'est pas nécessaire. Pourtant, une recherche combinée des deux champs Creative et Editorial vous garantit que le résultat de recherche montre toutes les images contenant votre terme de recherche.

Où se trouve l'Actualité du jour?

Vous trouvez l'Actualité du jour sur le site News. Mis à jour quotidiennement, elle est exclusivement accessible aux abonnés.

Y a-t-il une Perspective?

Vous trouvez la Perspective sur le site Editorial. Il faut d'un login afin d'accéder la Perspective mis à jour constamment.

Quelle est la différence entre les images Rights managed (RM) et Royalty free (RF)?

On distingue les images Rights managed (RM) dont les droits sont gérés des images Royalty free (RF) libres de droits. Aussi bien les images Rights managed (RM) que les images Royalty free (RF) sont protégées par le droit d'auteur, se distinguent cependent par l'ampleur des droits d'utilisation obtenus.

Pour les images Rights managed (RM), un droit de licence résulte dependant de la forme et du nombre d'utilisation.

Les images Royalty free (RF) peuvent être utilisées après l'attribution d'une licence sans limitation dans des divers contextes.

Quelles images puis-je utiliser pour de la publicité?

Pour être sûr qu'une certaine image peut être utilisée pour une campagne publicitaire il faut tenir compte des droits des personnes, objets, illustrations et logos représentés. Pour ces images, une autorisation additionnelle pour de la publicité est nécessaire. Veuillez tenir compte de ce que c’est noté sous  Conditions Particulières. Pour ne pas vous trompez, prenez contact avec notre département sales sales@keystone.ch.

Que signifie MODEL RELEASED?

Model Released signifie que les droits de personnalité figurant sur l'image ont été clarifiés même pour utilisation commerciale.

Que signifie PROPERTY RELEASED?

Property Released sont des images de bâtiments, marques et logo approuvées pour utilisation commerciale.

Que signifie CLEARANCE REQUIRED?

Pour les images marquées « Clearance Required » (voir Conditions Particulières), il est nécessaire de clarifier l’utilisation au préalable. Si vous vous intéressez à acheter une telle image, vous êtes automatiquement convié à déclarer dans quel contexte vous souhaitez l’utiliser. Vous seriez notifié par e-mail dès que l’utilisation aura été autorisée. Ensuite vous trouverez dans votre Inbox l’image prête à télécharger.

Qu’est-ce que sont les images HANDOUT?

Les images HANDOUT sont exclusivement à utiliser à des fins journalistiques et par rapport à l’événement, le produit ou bien l’entreprise représentés.

Quel genre de notes trouve-t-on sous CONDITIONS PARTICULIERES?

Certain droit d’utilisations ou d’obligations sont notés dans la légende sous Conditions Particulières.

Que signifie SPECIAL FEES?

Special Fees notés sous Conditions Particulières sont des suppléments qui s'ajoutent aux honoraires pour l'image. Ces suppléments s'élèvent normalement à +100%. Par exemple sur le prix d'images sous-marines et des images aériennes des suppléments sont ajoutés. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez sur Demande de Devis dans l’image respective.

Que signifie COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG

Toutes les images sont « copyrightpflichtig », c'est-à-dire que chaque utilisation nécessite l'addition d'une licence payante. Une partie des images est marquée en plus par COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG, resp. Image ID (c). Cela sert à informer les abonnés que l’utilisation de l’image respective est payante et ne fait pas partie de leur abonnement.

Comment puis-je rechercher une date?

Dans le champ de recherche on parcourt toutes les informations concernant l'image; par conséquent on peut y consigner une information concernant la date. Le format de la date n'est pas standard il faut donc travailler avec différentes orthographies. Cependant la date sous laquelle figure une image présente le format standard YYYYMMDD.

Hier j'ai trouvé une image, aujourd'hui elle n'y est plus. Que se passe-t-il?

Nous traitons chaque jour plus de 10’000 images, dont nous enregistrons chaque jour environ un quart. Les images qui ne figurent pas dans les archives ne sont plus disponibles après 60 jours. Là, où vous ne trouvez plus une certaine image, veuillez nous contacter par e-mail sales@keystone.ch et nous décrire l’image que vous cherchez afin que nous puissions vous aider.

Qu’est ce que c’est MES LIGHTBOXES?

Ce sont des collections personnelles d'images. Ici vous gérez, copiez, déplacez ou effacez vos images concernant un certain projet. Si vous travaillez à plusieurs projets, ou si vous commencez un nouveau projet, vous ouvrez une nouvelle lightbox et vous lui donnez un nom qui indique de quel projet il s'agit. Les lightboxes restent à votre disposition sans limite de temps.

Que signifie « K »?

Une sélection d'images est marquée par « K » si elle a été préparée d’un point de vue journalistique de fond et de forme par des rédacteurs photo de KEYSTONE. Ces sélections sont des "best of" donnant un aperçu des images du thème respectif.

Vous trouvez ces sélections d'images marquées par « K » sur tous les sites de recherche. Elles font partie de l'offre actuelle de KEYSTONE. Outre, vous en trouvez  dans votre résultat de recherche sous Contexte (colonne à droite). Ces sélections contiennent une image au moins qui correspond à votre terme de recherche.

Est-ce que tous les browser fonctionnent?

Les versions actuelles de Firefox, de Safari et d'Internet Explorer sont testées. Tous les autres browsers dans des versions actuelles fonctionneront; cependant, les représentations peuvent en souffrir. Des browsers sans l'appui de CSS ne fonctionnent pas.

Est-ce que j'ai besoin de Cookies et du JavaScript?

Cookies ne sont pas forcément nécessaires. Mais certaines fonctions de confort ne fonctionneront pas. Il vaut mieux les mettre en marche. Le JavaScript est indispensable. Sans JavaScript notre page ne fonctionne pas.

Qu'est-ce qui est enregistré dans un Cookie?

Des données de login pour l'autologin, des informations pour notre "load balancer" et les états de représentation des pages. Les données sont uniquement utilisées à cette fin.

Je n'ai pas de login et je ne suis pas encore client de KEYSTONE. Puis-je quand même obtenir des images?

En tant qu’entreprise b2b, KEYSTONE vend des images seulement à d’autres entreprises. Toutefois, si vous vous intéressez pour une image, cliquez sur Demande de Devis dans l’image respective et indiquez-nous, s’il vous plaît, à quelles fins vous entendez utiliser l’image.

Puis-je acheter chez KEYSTONE des images pour mon usage privé?

En tant qu’entreprise b2b, KEYSTONE vend des images seulement à d’autres entreprises. Toutefois, si vous vous intéressez pour une image, cliquez sur Demande de Devis dans l’image respective et indiquez-nous, s’il vous plaît, à quelles fins vous entendez utiliser l’image.

Qu’est-ce que MON INBOX?

Mon Inbox vous tient au courant de l’état des images que vous avez ordonnées dans les cas où elles ne sont pas disponibles directement via notre portail d’image. Ce sont des images Royalty free sélectionnées ou bien des images marquées Clearance Required.

Les images Royalty free pour lesquelles vous avez obtenu des droits d’utilisation à long-terme sont entreposées dans votre Inbox.

Est-ce que KEYSTONE dispose également d'images analogues?

KEYSTONE dispose d'un stock de quelque 11 millions de négatifs, de diapositives et de plaques de verre qui ne sont pas tous digitalisés. Il peut être utile de demander une recherche par les archives.

Contact

KEYSTONE AG
Grubenstrasse 45
CH - 8045 Zurich

Tél   +41 44 200 13 00
Fax  +41 44 200 13 05
info@keystone.ch

© 2018 KEYSTONE Impressum Contact | FAQ | Conditions générales