«Willi Ruge - The Man behind the Camera»

02.03.2015

img

Yes, yes, thta's the right position - Photo by Willi Ruge | IBA-Archive | KEYSTONE

From Monday, March 2, 2015, to Saturday, March 28, 2015, the "Schwarze Montag" shows eight images from the series "The Man behind the Camera" (Der Mann hinter der Kamera) by Willi Ruge.

 

So madam, think of something nice. - Turn your head slightly to the right. - And now a little higher. - Yes, that's nice madam. - Please don't get nervous. - Why so serious again? - No, this won't do. - Let's start again. - Smile, smile, smile, please. - May I ask you to move to the left a bit? - You have a delightful mouth. - Quite excellent. - Yes, yes, that's the right position. - Shoot. - Thank you so much, madam. 1]   

 

Someone gives instructions and one is tempted to turn one's head to the right and put on a smile. Willi Ruge is the man behind the camera and at the same time the author of the images. On every image he's pictured along with his camera. He gesticulates, heavily and gently, expressively, like a town looking for a murderer. Although in actual fact self-portraits, they don't refer to the depicted person, but enter into a lively dialogue with the viewer and instruct him to think of something nice and not to get nervous.

 

The images of Willi Ruge's (1892-1961) facial expressions are from the early 1930s. Ruge wanted to become a pilot, but went on to train as a photographer and became a photojournalist instead. He then lived out his passion for flying in his photographic work: "I photograph myself during a parachute jump" (Ich fotografiere mich beim Absturz mit dem Fallschirm) is the title of one of his image series and the series on the preparations is titled "... it Opened After All!" (... und er entfaltet sich doch!). Although his friends tried to dissuade him from this life-threatening self-experiment, he didn't relinquish his plans to, with a parachute, jump from an airplane over Berlin and published the images in the Berliner Illustrierten Zeitung after the successful jump.    

Little has been published about Willi Ruge. We'd like to point out an article by Ute Eskildsen in the book "OBJECT: PHOTO. Modern Photographs: The Thomas Walther Collection 1909-1949". Ute Eskildsen, long-time director of the Photographic Collection at the Museum Folkwang in Essen, is curator of acclaimed photo exhibitions.  
 


[1]  Instructions to the pantomime given by Willi Ruge.

 

 

«Schwarzer Montag» im Westflügel, Viaduktstrasse 21, 8005 Zürich www.schwarzermontag.ch | schwarzermontag@keystone.ch

 

 

Contact

KEYSTONE AG
Grubenstrasse 45
CH - 8045 Zürich

Tel   +41 44 200 13 00
Fax  +41 44 200 13 05
info@keystone.ch

 

Address

Schwarzer Montag
Westflügel
Viaduktstrasse 21
CH - 8005 Zürich
 

Tel    +41 79 963 88 82 keystone@westfluegel.ch

Opening Hours
Mon - Fri 12:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m
Sat 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Closed on Tuesdays

 

Program

«The Photo-Trap» - from Monday, February 20th, 2017 extended to the end of April

«The Refugees» - from Monday, May 8th, 2017 to the end of May 2017

-

«Dummys» | in planning

«The President» | in planning

Subject to modifications
 

 

 

Schwarzer Montag

  • mehr
  • weniger


Twitter

Follow us on Twitter

© 2017 KEYSTONE Impressum Contact | FAQ | Terms & Conditions

«Willi Ruge - Der Mann hinter der Kamera»

02.03.2015

img

Ja, ja, das ist die Stellung - Photo by Willi Ruge | IBA-Archiv | KEYSTONE

 

Der «Schwarze Montag» zeigt im März acht Bilder aus der Serie «Der Mann hinter der Kamera» von Willi Ruge.

 

Also gnädige Frau, denken Sie mal an etwas ganz Nettes.  – Ihr Köpfchen etwas nach rechts. – So, nun etwas höher. – Ja, schon ganz nett, gnädige Frau. – Bitte nicht nervös werden. – Aber warum wieder so ernst? – Nein, so geht das nicht. – Also fangen wir noch einmal an. – Lächeln, lächeln, lächeln, bitte. – Dürfte ich Sie etwas nach links bitten? – Sie haben doch einen entzückenden Mund. – Ganz vorzüglich. – Ja, ja, das ist die Stellung. – Aufnahme. – Verbindlichsten Dank, gnädige Frau.[1]  

 

Da gibt einer Anweisungen und man ist versucht, den Kopf etwas nach rechts zu rücken und ein Lächeln aufzusetzen. Willi Ruge ist der Mann hinter der Kamera und er ist gleichzeitig der Autor der Bilder. Auf jedem Bild ist er zusammen mit seiner Kamera sichtbar. Er gestikuliert, heftig und sanft, expressiv, wie die Stadt, die ihren Mörder sucht. Es sind Selbstporträts, nur verweisen sie nicht auf den Fotografierten selbst, sondern treten in einen lebhaften Dialog mit dem Betrachter und weisen ihn an, an etwas Nettes zu denken und nicht nervös zu werden.

Das Minenspiel von Willi Ruge (1892-1961) stammt aus den frühen 1930er Jahren. Ruge wollte Pilot werden, machte jedoch eine Lehre als Fotograf und wurde Fotojournalist. Seine Leidenschaft für die Fliegerei setzte der gelernte Fotograf in Bildserien um: «Ich fotografiere mich beim Absturz mit dem Fallschirm» titelt er eine seiner Bildserien und die Vorbereitungen dazu unter dem Titel «… und er entfaltet sich doch!» Obwohl ihn seine Freunde von diesem lebensgefährlichen Selbstversuch abbringen wollten, liess er sich von seinem Vorhaben, über Berlin mit einem Fallschirm aus einem Flugzeug zu springen, nicht abbringen und publizierte nach geglücktem Sprung die Bilder in der Berliner Illustrierten Zeitung. 

Es ist wenig zu Willi Ruge publiziert worden. Wir möchten auf einen Beitrag von Ute Eskildsen hinweisen, der soeben im Buch «OBJECT: PHOTO. Modern Photographs: The Thomas Walther Collection 1909-1949» erschienen ist. Ute Eskildsen, die langjährige Leiterin der Fotografischen Sammlung am Museum Folkwang in Essen, ist Kuratorin namhafter Fotografie-Ausstellungen.



[1]  Instruktionen zu den einzelnen Bildern aus dem Minenspiel von Willi Ruge.

 

 

«Schwarzer Montag» im Westflügel, Viaduktstrasse 21, 8005 Zürich www.schwarzermontag.ch | schwarzermontag@keystone.ch

 

 

© 2017 KEYSTONE  ImpressumKontakt | FAQ | AGB