«Homophobia in Russia» by Mads Nissen

04.05.2015

img

Jon à St. Petersbourg, Russie, 19.05.2014 – Photo de Mads Nissen, laif

In Russia, where since 1993, homosexuality is not an offense anymore and since 1999 is no longer classified as a mental disorder, homophobia remains common and socially acceptable. Lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transsexuals face legal and social discrimination, harassment and even violent ‘hate crime’ attacks from religious and national conservative groups.

In June 2013, the parliament in Moscow adopted a law making, among other things, positive statements on homosexuality in the presence of minors or in public – including in the media and on the internet - a punishable offense.

The picture of Jon and Alex in St. Petersburg, Russia, was chosen by World Press Photo as the World Press Photo of the Year 2014. It belongs to a photo essay by the Danish photographer Mads Nissen who has been documenting the harassment homosexuals live with and those afflicted by it since 2013. His images tell the tale of the court rooms, where gay right activists are interrogated, of nightclubs, where gays meet, but also that of a Lesbian family who fears they will be forced to give away their children because they do not hide their sexual preference.

From May 4 until 30, 2015, "Schwarzer Montag" (Black Monday) shows the photo essay “Homophobia in Russia” by Mads Nissen.

On Monday, May 4, 2015, from 6:00 pm, Mads Nissen will be at Westflügel, introducing his work.

Important: Mads Nissen will not be present at the opening of the “World Press Photo 15” exhibition at Folium - Alte Sihlpapierfabrik, Sihlcity in Zurich, on Wednesday, May 6, 2015, as he will be taking pictures at the wedding of Dmitry in Copenhagen on that day. The World Press Photo of the Year by Mads Nissen and the other winning press photos from the competition will be shown at Folium in May 2015.

_

«Schwarzer Montag» im Westflügel, Viaduktstrasse 21, 8005 Zürich
www.schwarzermontag.ch  |  schwarzermontag@keystone.ch

 

 

Contact

KEYSTONE AG
Grubenstrasse 45
CH - 8045 Zürich

Tel   +41 44 200 13 00
Fax  +41 44 200 13 05
info@keystone.ch

 

Address

Schwarzer Montag
Westflügel
Viaduktstrasse 21
CH - 8005 Zürich
 

Tel    +41 79 963 88 82 keystone@westfluegel.ch

Opening Hours
Mon - Fri 12:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m
Sat 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Closed on Tuesdays

 

Program

«Photo-Trap» - from Monday, February 20th, 2017 to the end of March

«The Family Imprint: A Daughter's Portrait of Love and Loss», Book Launch with Nancy Borowick - Monday, March 27, 2017

-

«Photo Collage» | in planning

«Dummys» | in planning

«The President» | in planning

Subject to modifications
 

 

 

Schwarzer Montag

  • mehr
  • weniger


Twitter

Follow us on Twitter

© 2017 KEYSTONE Impressum Contact | FAQ | Terms & Conditions

«Homophobie in Russland» von Mads Nissen

04.05.2015

img

Jon in St. Petersburg, Moskau, 19.05.2014 – Photo by Mads Nissen, laif

In Russland, wo Homosexualität seit 1993 nicht mehr strafbar ist und seit 1999 offiziell nicht mehr als psychische Störung gilt, ist Homophobie noch immer weit verbreitet und salonfähig. Lesbische, Schwule, Bisexuelle und Transsexuelle sehen sich heute in Russland juristischer und sozialer Diskriminierung ausgesetzt, werden bedroht und sind immer wieder Opfer von Hasskriminalität seitens religiöser und nationalkonservativer Gruppen.

Im Juni 2013 verabschiedete das Parlament in Moskau ein Gesetz, das beispielsweise positive Äusserungen über Homosexualität in Anwesenheit von Minderjährigen oder im öffentlichen Raum, auch in Medien oder dem Internet, unter Strafe stellt. 

World Press Photo hat das Bild von Jon und Alex in St. Petersburg, Russland, zum Pressebild des Jahres 2014 gemacht. Es ist Teil einer Reportage des dänischen Fotografen Mads Nissen, der seit 2013 die Bedrohung von Homosexuellen und jenen, die davon betroffen sind, dokumentiert. Seine Bilder erzählen von russischen Gerichtssälen, in denen Aktivisten für die Rechte von Homosexuellen verhört werden, von Nachtklubs, wo sich Schwule treffen, aber auch von einer lesbischen Familie, die aufgrund ihrer bekennenden sexuellen Ausrichtung in Angst lebt, ihre Kinder weggeben zu müssen.

Der «Schwarze Montag» zeigt vom 4. – 30. Mai 2015 die Reportage «Homophobie in Russland» von Mads Nissen.

Am Montag, 4. Mai 2015, ab 18 Uhr, ist Mads Nissen im Westflügel anwesend und führt in seine Arbeit ein.

Wichtig: Mads Nissen wird bei der Eröffnung der Ausstellung «World Press Photo 15» im Folium – Alte Sihlpapierfabrik, Sihlcity in Zürich am Mittwoch, 6.Mai 2015, nicht anwesend sein, da er an diesem Tag die Hochzeit von Dmitry in Kopenhagen fotografieren wird.  Das World Press Photo of the Year von Mads Nissen und die weiteren prämierten Pressebilder des Wettbewerbs sind im Mai 2015 im Folium zu sehen.
 

_

«Schwarzer Montag» im Westflügel, Viaduktstrasse 21, 8005 Zürich
www.schwarzermontag.ch  |  schwarzermontag@keystone.ch

 

 

© 2017 KEYSTONE  ImpressumKontakt | FAQ | AGB