FAQ

Register

Search images

Find images

 Order images

 

Why register with KEYSTONE?

It’s simple and worthwhile to register with KEYSTONE. After registering, you get a login. This allows you to access all of KEYSTONE’s images and offers you full functionality of the search options. You can also manage your project-related images in specific Lightboxes and download high-res images without watermarks.

Please note: Basically, only business clients, b2b business to business, get full access to the KEYSTONE Image Portal. Private persons do not get a login.

How do I get login data?

Start by registering in Sign In. Fill in the corresponding form. Business clients, b2b (business to business), receive login data within one working day. Private persons do not get a login.

How do I change my password?

Please write to us at sales@keystone.ch indicating your current login data (user name and password). We will send you new login data within one working day.

How can I subscribe to the KEYSTONE Newsletter?

Go to My Profile in My Account to subscribe to the KEYSTONE Newsletter. You need to be signd in order to do this. You can unsubscribe from the KEYSTONE Newsletter at any time, simply write us to sales@keystone.ch

How do I update my account information?

Go to My Profile in My Account to edit your personal information and configuration at any time. You can also subscribe to the KEYSTONE newsletter here.

I cannot find the pictures I am looking for. Why not?

Reset the search options with Clear and launch a fresh search. Check your input (spelling) and try again with different Search Options. Enter a new term for searching in another language (in French, German or English). Check the Search Area (Creative, Editorial, Archives, Stories or Sports).

What search options are available to me in the search field?

Two terms are automatically linked with AND. The search result shows therefore images which contain both terms (resp. all terms). Max Frisch finds images containing Max as well as Frisch.
If you link two terms with OR, the search result shows images containing either one term or the other. Max Frisch finds images which contain Max or Frisch.
If you want to exclude a term link both terms with NOT. The search result shows therefore images containing only the first term and excluding the second one. Max Frisch finds images containing only Max.
If you put a term in quotation marks, the search result shows only images containing those terms in consecutive order. "Max Frisch" finds only Max Frisch.
If you are searching for a partial term, put an asterisk in front and back of the term. *frisch* leads to search results such as Auffrischen. Taufrisch, Frischhaltefolie ...

You can show or hide further search options in the search result. This allows you to search inherently and therefore narrow down your search result.

What kind of images do I find in the Creative section?

In KEYSTONE’s Creative section you find images on subjects such as food & drink, lifestyle & free time, geography & travel, flora & fauna, concepts & emotions. These images are primarily used in advertising and marketing. Here you find images which are subject to licensing (RM) and images for which rights issues have already been settled (RF).

What kind of images do I find in the Editorial section?

In KEYSTONE's Editorial section you find pictures on news and events, sports and entertainment as well as portraits of important persons, historical images or reportages (see respective domain). Here you also find edited dossiers on current topics for your journalistic background information. To access all Editorial images you need a login.  

What kind of images do I find in the News section?

News images are only accessible for subscribers.

What kind of images do I find in the Archives section?

In KEYSTONE’s Archives section you find images taken before 2000. If you possess a login, you can use the Calendar here.
With over 11 million images, KEYSTONE disposes of the most important photo archive in Switzerland including an extensive manual repository with photographs, slides and photographic plates: a seemingly inexhaustible collection on the social history of our country. Since it will still take some time until the entire Archives collection will be available via our KEYSTONE image portal, we are happy to search the complete stock for you upon request. KEYSTONE is the exclusive and worldwide representative of other prestigious photo collections of Switzerland.

What kind of images do I find in the Stories section?

In KEYSTONE’s Stories section you find image series, reportages and photo essays. Reportages visualize stories clearly defined in time and space from the perspective of an eyewitness. In contrast, essays are about a photographer’s individual engagement with a specific subject.

What kind of images do I find in the Sports section?

In KEYSTONE’s Sports section you find sports images. This section is divided into News, a focus on important Events as well as Dossiers. Here you also find subpages with the sports highlights of the year such as football matches or Olympic Games.

When should I combine search areas?

The combination of search areas is usually not necessary. However, if you combine the two search areas Creative and Editorial, you can be sure that all the images containing your search term are found.

Where do I find the Daily Outlook?

You find the Daily Outlook in the News section. It is updated daily and only accessible for subscribers.

Is there a weekly Outlook?

You find the weekly Outlook in the Editorial section. You need a login in order to access the Outlook which is continually updated.

What is the difference between Rights managed (RM) and Royalty free (RF)?

We distinguish Rights managed images (RM), being subject to licensing, from Royalty Free images (RF), for which rights issues have already been settled. RM images as well as RF images are copyrighted, differ however regarding the extent of the rights of use acquired.

In case of Rights managed images (RM), a licence fee is being charged depending on kind and number of use.

Royalty free images (RF) can be used unlimited in time and in different contexts for a one-time fee.

Which pictures can I use for advertising purposes?

When using images in advertising, the rights of the depicted persons or objects, graphics and logos protected by trademark law are very important. For such images, special clearance for usage in advertising is required. Please note the information in the Special Instructions field of the captions. Model Released images can be used without any problems. To be sure, contact our Sales department sales@keystone.ch.

What are MODEL RELEASED images?

Model Released images are those for which personal rights of the persons depicted have been cleared, including for commercial usage.

What are PROPERTY RELEASED images?

Property Released are images of buildings, landmarks, trademarks and logos, which have been given clearance for commercial use by the owner.

What does CLEARANCE REQUIRED mean?

If an image is marked with Clearance Required (see Special Instructions), the use of the image must be clarified. If you would like to buy such an image, you will be automatically asked to indicate what you would like to use the image for. You will be notified shortly, as soon as clearance for the image has been given. You will then find the image in your inbox ready for download.

What are HANDOUT images?

Handout images must only be used for editorial purposes and in connection with the event, product or company depicted.

Which kinds of entries are listed in the SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS field?

The field Special Instructions lists certain rights of use or obligations.

What does SPECIAL FEES mean? 

Special Fees marked in the Special Instructions field indicates surcharges are imposed on picture fees. Those surcharges normally amount to +100%. For example, underwater pictures and aerial pictures carry surcharges. For more information, click on Request Price Offer in the respective image.

What does COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG mean? 

Every image is protected by copyrights meaning every use of an image requires a charged licencing. Some images are additionally noted with the information COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG, resp. Image ID (c). This information is intended for subscribers as a reminder that usage of the particular image is subject to a fee. 

How can I search for a date?

As all of the information relating to the picture is searched through in the search field, it is also possible to enter specific dates in this field. The format for the date is not standardized and you have to use different forms. However, the date under which a picture is saved in the database does have the standardized format YYYYMMDD.

I found a picture yesterday, but it is no longer available today. What is happening here?

We process more than 10’000 pictures a day. Around one quarter of these are archived every day. The rest is no longer available after 60 days. If there is a picture you cannot find anymore, please contact us at sales@keystone.ch and describe the image you are looking for. Our Sales Team will be happy to help you.

What are MY LIGHTBOXES?

My Lightboxes contain your personal collections of pictures. In a Lightbox, you can edit, copy, relocate or delete pictures for a specific project. If you are involved in a number of projects or starting out on a new one, simply set up a new Lightbox along with a name for the new project. These Lightboxes will then be available for an unlimited time.

What does the quality label “K” stand for?

An image selections marked with a "K" has been edited and reviewed in form and content by professional KEYSTONE picture editors. This image selection is a "best of" and gives an overview on the important images matching the respective topic.

Image selections marked with "K" are to be found in all search areas. They are part of the current KEYSTONE offer. Additionally, you find such selections in your search result below Context (right column). They contain at least one image matching your search term.

Does it work with any browser?

At present it has been tested with the current versions of Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer. In its current version, any other browser is sure to work properly, however the display may well suffer. Browsers without CSS support do not work.

Do I need Cookies and JavaScript?

You can manage without cookies. However, certain of the convenience functions will not work. It is better to switch cookies on. JavaScript is required. Without it our page does not work.

What is there saved in a Cookie?

Login data for the automatic login process, information for our load balancer, and status reports for page displays. These information are exclusively used for this purpose.

I do not have login rights and am not (yet) a member. Can I still receive pictures?

KEYSTONE is a b2b company and therefore usually only sells to other businesses. However, you may click on Request Price Offer in the view file of the image you are interested in and indicate what you would like to use the image for.

Can I purchase pictures for my own private use?

KEYSTONE is a b2b company and therefore usually only sells to other businesses. However, you may click on Request Price Offer in the image you are interested in and indicate to which private purpose you would like to use the image for.

What is MY INBOX?

My Inbox tells you the status of those images which you ordered because they are not available via our image portal. These may be Royalty free images or images marked with the label Clearance Required.

Your inbox also contains the Royalty free images for which you acquired long-term rights of usage.

Are there also analog pictures available at KEYSTONE? 

Yes, KEYSTONE has a stock of pictures running to around 11 million negatives, slides, prints and photographic plates. Not all of these have been digitalized as yet. You may send a request for a search to our Sales Team.

Contact

KEYSTONE AG
Grubenstrasse 45
CH - 8045 Zurich

phone +41 44 200 13 00
fax      +41 44 200 13 05
info@keystone.ch

© 2017 KEYSTONE Impressum Contact | FAQ | Terms & Conditions

FAQ

Registrieren

Bilder suchen

Bilder finden

Bilder bestellen

 

Warum bei KEYSTONE registrieren?

Die Registrierung bei KEYSTONE ist unkompliziert und lohnt sich: Mit einem Login erhalten Sie Zugriff auf das gesamte Bildmaterial von KEYSTONE und die volle Funktionalität der Suchmöglichkeiten. Mit einem Login können Sie Bilder projektspezifisch in persönlichen Lightboxen verwalten und Volldaten ohne Wasserzeichen herunterladen.

Hinweis: Der volle Zugriff auf die Bilddatenbank von KEYSTONE ist grundsätzlich nur für Geschäftskunden, b2b (business to business), vorgesehen. Privatpersonen erhalten kein Login.

Wie komme ich zu einem Login?

Registrieren können Sie sich unter Anmelden (oben rechts). Füllen Sie das entsprechende Formular vollständig aus.

Geschäftskunden, b2b (business to business), erhalten innerhalb eines Arbeitstages ein persönliches Login. Privatpersonen erhalten kein Login.

Wie ändere ich mein Passwort?

Bitte schreiben Sie uns auf sales@keystone.ch und geben Sie uns Ihre aktuellen Logindaten an (Benutzername und Passwort). Innerhalb eines Arbeitstages schicken wir Ihnen die neuen Passwörter zu.

Wie kann ich den KEYSTONE Newsletter abonnieren?

Der KEYSTONE Newsletter kann unter Mein Konto bei Mein Profil abonniert werden. Dazu müssen Sie angemeldet sein. Wenn Sie den KEYSTONE Newsletter nicht mehr abonnieren wollen, können Sie diesen abbestellen. Schreiben Sie uns dazu einfach ein Mail an info@keystone.ch.

Wie aktualisiere ich meine Kontoangaben?

Unter Mein Konto bei Mein Profil können Sie jederzeit Ihre persönlichen Angaben und Portaleinstellungen verwalten. Hier kann auch der KEYSTONE Newsletter abonniert werden.

Ich kann die gesuchten Bilder nicht finden. Warum?

Überprüfen Sie die Suchoptionen im Drop Down Menü und suchen Sie erneut. Prüfen Sie Ihre Schreibweise (Rechtschreibung) und versuchen Sie es mit anderen Suchoptionen. Geben Sie Ihren Suchbegriff in einer anderen Sprache (en oder fr oder de) ein. Prüfen Sie den Suchbereich (Creative, Editorial, Archive, Stories oder Sport).

Welche Suchoptionen habe ich zur Verfügung?

Zwei Begriffe werden automatisch mit UND verknüpft. Somit werden im Suchresultat Bilder angezeigt, in denen beide Begriffe (bzw. alle Begriffe) vorkommen. Max Frisch findet Bilder, in denen Max und Frisch enthalten sind.
Wenn Sie die Begriffe mit ODER verknüpfen, werden im Suchresultat Bilder angezeigt, die den einen oder anderen Begriff enthalten. Max Frisch findet Bilder, in denen entweder Max oder Frisch enthalten sind.
Wenn Sie einen Begriff ausschliessen wollen, verknüpfen Sie die beiden Begriffe mit NICHT. Damit zeigt das Suchresultat nur Bilder an, die den ersten Begriff enthalten und den zweiten Begriff ausschliessen. Max Frisch findet Bilder, in denen nur Max enthalten ist.
Setzen Sie eine Wortfolge in Anführungs- und Schlusszeichen, zeigt das Suchresultat nur jene Bilder an, in denen die Begriffe in dieser Reihenfolge, direkt nacheinander vorkommen. "Max Frisch" findet nur Max Frisch.
Soll ein Teilbegriff gefunden werden, setzen Sie den gesuchten Begriff in Sternchen. *frisch* führt zu Suchresultaten wie
Auffrischen, Taufrisch, Frischhaltefolie ...

Im Suchresultat kann ich weitere Suchoptionen ein- oder ausblenden. Diese Facettierung erlaubt mir die Suche innerhalb der Suche, also das Verfeinern meines Suchresultats.

Was finde ich unter Creative?

Unter Creative finden Sie Bilder zu Themen wie Essen & Trinken, Freizeit & Lifestyle, Geografie & Reisen, Pflanzen & Tiere, Konzepte & Emotionen. Diese Bilder werden vor allem in der Werbung und im Marketing eingesetzt. Hier finden Sie lizenzpflichtige (RM) und lizenzfreie (RF) Bilder. Auf Creative können Sie ohne Login zugreifen.

 

Was finde ich unter Editorial?

Unter Editorial finden Sie Bilder von Ereignissen und Themen aus Bereichen wie News, Sport oder Unterhaltung, aber auch Portraits von Persönlichkeiten, historische Bilder oder Reportagen (siehe auch entsprechende Seiten). Unter Editorial stehen Ihnen auch aufbereitete Dossiers zu Aktualitäten für Ihren journalistischen Hintergrund zur Verfügung.

Um alle Bilder in diesem Bereich zu sehen, brauchen Sie ein Login.

Was finde ich unter News?

Dieser Bereich ist nur Abonnenten zugänglich.

Was finde ich unter Archive?

Unter Archive finden Sie Bilder, die vor dem Jahr 2000 entstanden sind. Wenn Sie ein Login besitzen, haben Sie Zugriff auf den Archivkalender.
Mit über 11 Millionen Bildern verfügt KEYSTONE über das bedeutendste historische Fotoarchiv der Schweiz, darunter auch ein umfangreiches Hand-Archiv mit Prints, Dias und Glasplatten. Es ist ein fast unendlicher Fundus zur sozialen Geschichte unseres Landes. Da noch lange nicht alle Bilder auf dem KEYSTONE Bildportal abrufbar sind, werden auf Anfrage jederzeit die gesamten Archivbestände durchsucht.
KEYSTONE vertritt namhafte fotografische Sammlungen der Schweiz exklusiv und weltweit.

Was finde ich unter Stories?

Unter Stories finden Sie Bildserien, Reportagen und Essays. Reportagen visualisieren räumlich und zeitlich begrenzte Geschichten aus der Perspektive eines Augenzeugen. Im Mittelpunkt des Essays hingegen steht die persönliche Auseinandersetzung des Fotografen mit seinem jeweiligen Thema. 

Was finde ich unter Sport?

Unter Sport finden Sie Sportbilder. Dieser Bereich ist gegliedert in Aktuell, eine Fokussierung auf die wichtigsten Ereignisse und Dossiers. Unter Sport finden sich jedoch auch Subseiten zu den sportlichen Höhepunkten des Jahres wie internationale Fussballturniere oder Olympische Spiele.

Wann soll ich Kombinationen benutzen?

Die Kombination von verschiedenen Suchbereichen ist in der Regel nicht notwendig. Wenn Sie jedoch in den beiden Suchbereichen Editorial und Creative gleichzeitig suchen, haben Sie die Gewähr, dass auf der Datenbank alle Bilder zu Ihrem Suchbegriff gefunden werden.

Wo finde ich das Tagesprogramm?

Das Tagesprogramm ist auf der News Seite zu finden. Es ist nur Abonnenten zugänglich und wird jeden Tag aktualisiert.

Gibt es einen Ausblick?

Der Ausblick ist auf der Editorial Seite zu finden. Sie brauchen ein Login, um den Ausblick zu sehen. Er wird laufend aktualisiert.

Was unterscheidet Rights managed (RM) und Royalty free (RF)?

Wir unterscheiden zwischen Rights managed (RM) oder lizenzpflichtigen Bildern und Royalty free (RF) oder sogenannten lizenfreien Bildern. Sowohl RM Bilder als auch RF Bilder sind geschützt, sie unterscheiden sich jedoch im Umfang der Verwendungsrechte, die bei einem Lizenzkauf erworben werden.

Bei lizenzpflichtigen Bildern (RM) fällt eine vom Verwendungszweck und der Anzahl Verwendungen abhängige Lizenzgebühr an.

Lizenzfreie Bilder (RF) lassen sich nach einer Lizenzierung zeitlich unbegrenzt in verschiedenen Kontexten verwenden.

Welche Bilder kann ich zu Werbezwecken verwenden?

Für die Verwendung von Bildern für Werbezwecke sind die Rechte der abgebildeten Personen oder Abbildung markenrechtlich geschützter Objekte, Gestaltungen, Logos von spezieller Bedeutung. Bei diesen Bildern ist eine zusätzliche Freigabe für Werbung erforderlich. Bitte beachten Sie die Bemerkungen unter "Spezielle Konditionen". Problemlos können "Model Released" Bilder verwendet werden. Um ganz sicher zu gehen, kontaktieren Sie unser Sales-Team.

 

Was bedeutet MODEL RELEASED?

Model Released heisst, dass die Persönlichkeitsrechte von abgebildeten Personen auch für kommerzielle Verwendungen geklärt sind.

 

Was bedeutet PROPERTY RELEASED?

Bilder von Gebäuden, Sehenswürdigkeiten, Markenzeichen und Logos sind von Besitzern für kommerzielle Verwendungen freigegeben.

Was bedeutet CLEARANCE REQUIRED?

Trägt ein Bild den Hinweis "Clearance Required" (siehe Spezielle Konditionen), muss die Verwendung vorgängig geklärt werden. Wenn Sie ein solches Bild beziehen möchten, werden Sie automatisch aufgefordert, Ihre Verwendungsabsicht zu deklarieren. Sobald das Bild freigegeben ist, werden Sie per Mail informiert. Das freigegebene Bild finden Sie dann in Ihrer Inbox zum Download bereit.

Was sind HANDOUT Bilder?

Handout Bilder dürfen nur im Rahmen der redaktionellen Berichterstattung und im Zusammenhang mit dem dargestellten Ereignis, Produkt oder Firma verwendet werden.

Welche Einträge finde ich unter SPEZIELLE KONDITIONEN?

Unter Spezielle Konditionen sind bestimmte Nutzungsrechte oder Restriktionen vermerkt.

Was bedeutet SPECIAL FEES?

Der Vermerk SPECIAL FEES unter Spezielle Konditionen bedeutet einen Zuschlag auf das Bildhonorar. Diese zusätzlichen Verwendungskosten belaufen sich normalerweise auf +100%. Special Fees werden beispielsweise für Luftaufnahmen oder Unterwasseraufnahmen erhoben. Für Anfragen klicken Sie bitte beim entsprechenden Bild auf Preisofferte.

 

Was bedeutet COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG?

Jedes Bild ist copyrightpflichtig, d.h. jede Verwendung eines Bildes bedarf einer kostenpflichtigen Lizenzierung. Der Vermerk COPYRIGHTPFLICHTIG, bzw. Image ID (c) ist bei einem Teil der angebotenen Bilder zusätzlich vermerkt und ist für Abonnenten der Hinweis, dass die Verwendung des jeweiligen Bildes nicht Bestandteil ihres Abonnements ist, eine Verwendung entsprechend honorarpflichtig ist.

 

Wie kann ich nach einem Datum suchen?

Da im Suchfeld alle Informationen zum Bild durchsucht werden, kann in diesem Feld auch eine Datumsinformation eingetragen werden. Das Datumsformat ist jedoch nicht standardisiert, es muss mit verschiedenen Schreibweisen gearbeitet werden. Das Datum, unter welchem ein Bild auf der Datenbank gespeichert wird, hat jedoch das standardisierte Format YYYYMMDD.

Warum ist das gestern gefundene Bild heute nicht mehr da?

Pro Tag verarbeiten wir über 10'000 Bilder. Davon werden rund ein Viertel archiviert. Die restlichen Bilder stehen nach 60 Tagen nicht mehr zur Verfügung. Sollte ein Bild nicht mehr auffindbar sein, so kontaktieren Sie uns bitte auf sales@keystone.ch und beschreiben Sie das gesuchte Bild. Unser Sales-Team wird Ihnen weiterhelfen. 

 

Was sind Meine Lighboxen?

Meine Lightboxen sind Ihre persönlichen Bildsammlungen. Hier können Sie Ihre projektspezifischen Bilder verwalten, kopieren, verschieben oder löschen. Wenn Sie in mehrere Projekte involviert sind oder mit einem neuen Projekt beginnen, legen Sie einfach eine neue Lightbox an und geben ihr einen entsprechenden Namen. Diese Lightboxen stehen Ihnen unbefristet zur Verfügung.

Was bedeutet "K"?

Eine Bildauswahl wird mit einem "K" versehen, wenn es sich um eine von KEYSTONE erstellte, redaktionell betreute Bildauswahl handelt. Diese Bildauswahl ist ein "best of" und soll Ihnen helfen, sich schnell einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Bilder zum entsprechenden Thema zu machen. Bildauswahlen mit "K" sind auf allen Suchseiten zu finden. Sie sind Teil des aktuellen Angebots von KEYSTONE.

Zusätzlich finden Sie solche Bildauswahlen bei der Darstellung Ihrer Suchabfrage im Suchresultat unter Kontext (rechte Spalte). Diese Angebote führen Sie zu Bildauswahlen, die mindestens ein Bild enthalten, das Ihrem Suchbegriff entspricht.

Funktionieren alle Browser?

Getestet sind die aktuellen Versionen von Firefox, Safari und Internet Explorer. Alle weiteren Browser werden in den aktuellen Versionen auch funktionieren, wobei die Darstelllung darunter leiden kann. Browser ohne CSS-Unterstützung funktionieren nicht.

Brauche ich Cookies und JavaScipt?

Cookies braucht es nicht zwingend, gewisse Komfort Funktionen funktionieren aber ohne Cookies nicht. Es ist besser, Cookies einzuschalten. JavaScript ist unerlässlich. Ohne JavaScript funktioniert die Seite nicht.

Was wird in den Cookies gespeichert?

In den Cookies werden Logindaten für das Autologin, Informationen für den Lastverteiler und die Darstellung von Seiten gespeichert. Diese Daten werden ausschliesslich für diesen Zweck verwendet.

Wie beziehe ich Bilder ohne Login? 

KEYSTONE verkauft  Bilder grundsätzlich nur an Geschäftskunden, b2b (business to business). Klicken Sie beim gewünschten Bild auf Preisofferte und geben Sie uns Ihren beabsichtigten Verwendungszweck an.

 

Kann ich Bilder zum privaten Gebrauch beziehen?

KEYSTONE verkauft  Bilder grundsätzlich nur an Geschäftskunden, b2b (business to business). Klicken Sie beim gewünschten Bild auf Preisofferte und geben Sie uns Ihren beabsichtigten Verwendungszweck an.

Was ist Meine Inbox?

Meine Inbox informiert über den Stand von bestellten Bildern, welche auf unserem Portal nicht direkt bezogen werden können. Dies sind ausgewählte Royalty Free Bilder oder Bilder mit der Bezeichnung Clearance Required (Rechteabklärung).

In der Inbox bleiben die Royalty Free Bilder parkiert, für die Sie längerfristige Verwendungsrechte erworben haben.

Gibt es bei KEYSTONE auch analoge Bilder?

KEYSTONE verfügt über einen Bildbestand von rund 11 Millionen Negativen, Dias, Prints und Glasplatten. Diese sind noch nicht alle digitalisiert. Es kann sich lohnen, eine Suchanfrage an unser Sales-Team zu schicken.

 

Kontakt

KEYSTONE AG
Grubenstrasse 45
CH - 8045 Zürich

Tel   +41 44 200 13 00
Fax  +41 44 200 13 05
info@keystone.ch

© 2014 KEYSTONE  ImpressumKontakt | FAQ | AGB | World Press Photo 14